Key ResourcesNations of the World REF. HC10 .N36 2010 & 2012 (Reference Section)
Maintained by the Central Intelligence Agency, key economic, social, and political indicators for most nations.
World DataBank provides access to the World Development Indicators (WDI) and Global Development Finance (GDF) datasets, including numerous topical datasets and extracts. Data may be formatted into on-screen reports or downloaded as .csv files. The World Development Indicators database via World Databank includes the variable "Firms with Female Participation in Ownership (% of firms").
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
Includes key employment, salary, and wage indicators by topic and country.
Portal to the WHO's various datasets and statistical reports on world health issues. Maintained by the U.S. Census Bureau, a list of international statistical agencies by country with links.
Business Source CompleteIncludes country reports (browse from the Advance Search screen) providing key indicators for economic and marketing analysis.
National and International Statistical Agencies (Alphabetical Lists)Maintained by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics in the Department of Labor, a list of domestic and international statistical agencies with links.
Maintained by the U.S. Census Bureau, a list of international statistical agencies by country with links.
International Sources for Economic Development StatisticsThe UNSD is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. The UNSD compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develops standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.
Interactive tool for searching and manipulating World Bank data sources by country, topic, indicators, and microdata. Includes access to the World Bank's Data Catalog, which provides access datasets, pre-formatted tables, reports, and additional resources.
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
Provides datasets and interpreted labor statistics data from around the world.
Select International Economic Development Statistical DatasetsWorld DataBank provides access to the World Development Indicators (WDI) and Global Development Finance (GDF) datasets, including numerous topical datasets and extracts. Data may be formatted into on-screen reports or downloaded as .csv files.
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic
and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the
global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of
users through a single entry point. Users can now search and
download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
Presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and
territories of the world. It contains 55 tables, comprising over 100 indicators,
of monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects illustrating
important economic trends and developments, including population, industrial
production indices, price indices, employment and earnings, energy,
manufacturing, transport, construction, international merchandise trade, finance
and national accounts.
Contains all the publications and datasets
released by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development,
International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development
Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International
Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 - over 1 200 journal issues, 3 300 working
papers, 2 900 multi-lingual summaries, 7 700 e-book titles, 16 000 tables and
graphs, 25 000 chapters and articles, and 480 complete databases with more than
4.5 billion data points.
The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of
other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world through
technical assistance, training, and software products. For over 60 years, the
Census Bureau has performed international analytical work and assisted in the
collection, processing, analysis, dissemination, and use of statistics with
counterpart governments in over 100 countries.
Select International Economic Development ReportsWorld Development Report (World Bank)The World Development Report is produced on an annual basis and is the Bank's major analytical publication. Each year it focuses on a particular aspect of development selected by the Bank's president. Each World Development Report team is led by a senior Bank staff member who is supported by a team of staff and consultants, under the guidance of the Chief Economist.
Clearinghouse for World Bank economic and development reports by country and region. Demographic Yearbook (United Nations)
The United Nations Demographic Yearbook collects, compiles and disseminates official statistics on a wide range of topics. Data have been collected from national statistical authorities since 1948 through a set of questionnaires dispatched annually by the United Nations Statistics Division to over 230 national statistical offices. World Economic and Social Survey (United Nations)
The World Economic and Social Survey (WESS) provides
objective analysis of pressing long-term social and economic development issues,
and discusses the positive and negative impact of corresponding policies. International Economic Trends (Economic Research Division, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis)
Provides major economic, labor, monetary, and cross-country comparisons for countries of interest. Also available in annual editions.
The Bureau of International Labor Affairs (ILAB) leads the U.S. Department of Labor’s efforts to ensure that workers around the world are treated fairly and are able to share in the benefits of the global economy. ILAB’s mission is to use all available international channels to improve working conditions, raise living standards, protect workers’ ability to exercise their rights, and address the workplace exploitation of children and other vulnerable populations.
Select National Economic and Demographic Statistics (Datasets and Reports)Conducted every five years by U.S. Census Bureau (most recently in 2007), the Survey of Business Owners (SBO) provides the only comprehensive, regularly collected source of information on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status.
Provides access to census research on economic indicators, most
based on NAICS codes. Includes the Economic Census, County Business Patterns,
Retail Trade, the Annual Survey of Manufactures, and other reports.
Conducted every five years (years ending in -2 and
-7). Covers statistics like: number of establishments, sales, payroll,
and paid employees; sales and payroll ratios; value of shipments by
industry and detailed product; cost of materials; retail sales by square
foot; product line sales (product mix data); sales size by firms; concentration by largest firms; sales by class of customer; and other
industry-specific data.
The BEA tracks the GDP of the nation, provides access to
state GDPs, reports on the state of national and international accounts, and
tracks other data on the state of the US economy.
Browse through a compilation of data, including current and historical
statistics on wage trends, unemployment rates for different demographic groups,
and much more, all in spreadsheet form. State of Working America data includes comprehensive economic data on jobs, wage and compensation trends, and
consumer prices from EPI’s flagship publication that debuted in 1988. Economy Track data includes recent comparison data across recessions (between
1973-2009), including unemployment, underemployment, labor force participation,
and other economic indicators.
Data.govAccess to statistics from more than 70 agencies of
the federal government.
This portal helps you locate data from over 100
statistic-tracking agencies in the U. S. government.
Statistical Abstract of the United State (U.S. Census Bureau)The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
Includes data from three annual economic surveys, the Annual Survey of Manufacturers, Business Patterns, and Nonemployer Statistics.
Presents and interprets data from the 2010 national census.
American Community Survey (U.S. Census Bureau)The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides data
every year -- giving communities the current information they need to plan
investments and services. Information from the survey generates data that help
determine how more than $400 billion in federal and state funds are distributed
each year.
North Carolina Statistical ResourcesThe State Data Center is a consortium
of agencies cooperating with the US Bureau of the Census to provide the public
with data about the state and its component geographic areas. The SDC lead
agency is located in the Technology and Data Services Section of the Office of State Budget and Management, where it
provides extensive resources for retrieving statistical information.
Portal for state and national statistical resources on a variety of subjects.
|