Social Work

Reference Tools

Electronic Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Includes over 3.3 million articles from 534 scholarly subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Search the entire 32 volumes of Encyclopedia Britannica, the library's comprehensive online general encyclopedia.

Provides access to over 20 general and subject encyclopedias on all topics.

Social Work Books in the Reference Section

Social Work Dictionary
The Social Work Dictionary, 5th ed.
REF HV12 B37 2003

Provides basic definitions of social work terminology and concepts. Includes a chronology of milestones in the development of social work and social welfare.




Encyclopedia of Social Work
The Encyclopedia of Social Work, 20th ed.
REF HV12 .E53 2008  vols. 1-4

Published by the NASW Press, provides comprehensive coverage of social work topics in extended articles written by area specialists. Articles include citations and suggested lists for further reading.



Social Worker's Desk Reference
Social Worker's Desk Reference, 2nd ed.
REF HV40 .S6464 2009

A practitioner-oriented volume, provides reliable and accessible information about effective services and treatment approaches across the spectrum of social work practice. Includes helpful website and reference lists at the end of each article.


Guide to Essential Human Services
A Guide to Essential Human Services, 2nd ed.
REF HV91 .R383 2010

Written for practitioners, provides information about how to locate and access human services for clients. Includes  contact information for resources addressing a wide array of client needs.



Professional Writing for the Human Services
Professional Writing for the Human Services
REF HV41 .P759 1993

Provides guidance on research and writing for publication in human services. Offers advice on how to develop qualitative and quantitative research studies, research methodology, and presenting findings.



Authors Guide to Social Work Journals
An Author's Guide to Social Work Journals, 5th ed.
REF HV85 .A93 2009

Updated in 2009, provides publication information and author guidelines for over 200 key social work journals.

Help with Research

Follow these links for brief articles and videos to help with the resources on this page: