Social Work

Databases

General Databases for Social Work

Provides coverage of public policy, political science, and criminology, as well as the full range of social science topics.

Academic Search Complete
Magazines and journals on many subjects, includes peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

MasterFile Complete
General magazines, journals, and newspapers covering many subjects. Includes peer-reviewed.

JSTOR
Provides digitized full-text articles from 117 scholarly journals and magazines. Coverage does not include the past 3-5 years of publication. Many search options are available, including browsing by subject (i.e. "Language and Literature") or title. 

Subject Databases
Produced by NISC, covers current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Includes book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide.

Provides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Includes more than 1.3 million records from 1970 to the present.

Includes bibliographic records covering family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index  contains more than 21,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most  important sources within the discipline.

Includes bibliographic records covering race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Contains more than 49,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.


Help with Research

Follow these links for brief articles and videos to help with the resources on this page:

Database Overviews and Common Tasks Overviews of Specific Databases Working with Citations (see also the Writing & Citing page)