Political Science

Statistical Resources

Census and Demographic Sources

"Provides frequently requested Census Bureau information at the national, state and county level" including People, Business, and Geography categories. Very quick and easy to use! 

Official website of the U.S. Census Bureau. This site gives thorough access to census information and statistics. 

Provides a vast amount of data from the censuses from 1790 through 1960, available in many cases down to the county level. 

A trusted source for federal statistical information since 1997. FedStats supports a community of practice for over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official Federal statistics.

 Downloadable statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. 

Population, economic, income, health data and more.

Statewide, county, and local demographic information.

NCDPI reports including breakdowns by school system.

Tables, Maps, graphs of North Carolina agriculture.

International Statistics Sources
Published by the CIA, this site offers statistical and other information by country. Information is included on the geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, and military. 

Database that allows you to view and compare the most up-to-date statistical data for the Member States of the United Nations.

Population information from around the world.

Economic Statistics Sources

Includes information on the Consumer Price Index, employment, wages, productivity, with geographical breakdowns available.

Web page of the Economic Policy Institute.

World Bank's World Development Indicators provides 550 development indicators, with time series for 207 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2000. 

Offers international economic and demographic data.

Criminal Justice Statistics Sources

Produced by the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center of the University at Albany (SUNY/Albany). 

The Uniform Crime Reporting Program collects data on the age, race, and sex of persons arrested for all crimes except traffic violations. 

Health Statistics Sources

Includes access to FASTATS, an alphabetical list of statistics on scores of health topics. 

Resources about diseases, conditions and other special topics arranged under "Health Topics A-Z", also includes health immunizations and recommendations for travelers worldwide. 

Online reports of health-related statistics. 

Statistical Methodology Resources

The Centre for Applied Statistics at Lancaster University (UK) has developed this compilation of brief, non-technical definitions of terms that may have you temp-orarily befuddled. Included are terms for topics such as Hypothesis Testing, Samp-ling, Probability, Confidence Intervals, Non-Parametric Methods, among others. Thanks to Dr. Rita Posner for calling this site to our attention! (rb 05/01/01) 

This is an excellent statistics textbook written by Dr. David Stockburger, professor of Psychology at Southwestern Missourri State University . It represents over twen-ty years of experience in teaching several statistics courses. He also has an online textbook for Multivariate Statistics. Both of these resources can be viewed online or downloaded. 

This is a comprehensive statistics textbook for beginners to experts, and covers a wide variety of applications, including laboratory research (biomedical, agricultural, etc.), business statistics and forecasting, social science statistics and survey research, data mining, engineering and quality control applications, and many others. 

This site offers a set of statistical calculators which accomplish specific tasks reliably and quickly, with minimal instruction. However, it is not a "robust" statistical application such as those for which one must pay.