Journalism & Media Studies

Websites

Google's specialized search engine for finding scholarly and peer-reviewed research online. Links to Bennett College full text sources and provides ILL links for materials without full text.

Has a Journalist's Toolbox, which includes information on such topics as ethics finding public records, interviewing techniques, and electronic lists and newsgroups 

Wex is a collaboratively-created, public-access law dictionary and encyclopedia. It is hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Above is Wex's media law page, which includes a brief introduction and overview of the topic, and links to a range of federal and state resources. 

Covers the history of African American journalism. Current black press is included. From PBS, as a companion to the film "The Black Press".



A fun, eye-opening wiki that details the great number of tropes and character types that occur throughout every genre of television and other media. Learn about "Manic Pixie Dream Girl" and "The Big Rotten Apple." Use this to explore popular formulas, but take note that it lacks proper citation.

Organization Lists and Directories


(from High Point Public Library)


National Professional and Non-Profit

(from USA.gov)


Media

Thousands of high-quality images you can use for academic projects. (Check usage restrictions)

A subject guide from the University Northern Colorado



Help with Research

Follow these links for brief articles and videos to help with the resources on this page:

Evaluating Websites

Google Tools
Overviews of Specific WebsitesRequesting Items via Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Working with Citations (see also the Writing & Citing page)