Health & Wellness

Consumer Health Resources


Information on aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, and more.

MedlinePlus
Common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, drugs info, medical dictionaries and more.

MedlinePlus Drugs & Supplements
Guide to prescription and over-the-counter medications, herbs, and supplements.

NC Health Info
NC Health Info has an established history of meeting the health information needs and interests of English and Spanish speaking North Carolinians and is maintained by librarians statewide who volunteer their time and expertise to select the best information sources for you.

This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry

P
roQuest Health & Medical Complete
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Magazines, journals, and essays on medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, general health, adult health, pediatric health, senior health,  women's health and sports medicine.




 Consumer Health Websites 

Merck Manual Home Edition
Explains disorders, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, and how they can be prevented or treated.

MayoClinic.com
Health education to patients and the general public on topics such as autism, influenza, bipolar disorder, breast cancer, smoking, depression, and more.

WebMD
Provides valuable health information, tools for managing your health, and support to those who seek information.

Drugs.com
Provides information about prescription and OTC drugs.

Resources about diseases, conditions and other special topics, with health immunizations and recommendations for travelers worldwide.

Topical Resources

HIV InSite
Up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy. Includes information on HIV in other areas of the world.

KidsHealth
Information about children from before birth through adolescence. Topics include: emotional development, nutrition, parenting, first aid, and infections.

Lab Tests Online
Understand lab tests that are part of routine care, as well as diagnosis and treatment. Search by test, condition, or recommended screenings.

National Cancer Institute
Comprehensive descriptions of cancer research programs and clinical trials.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Complementary and alternative healing practices such as aromatherapy, acupuncture, and herbal medicine. Offers resources and pamphlets.

National Institute of Mental Health
Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of various mental illnesses. Includes brochures, information sheets, reports, press releases, and fact sheets.

NC Health Info Online
Guide to quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina. 

NC Public Health
Information on health precautions, links to local health departments, how to get birth certificates.

NIH Senior Health
Aging-related health information for family members and friends seeking easy to understand online health information. 

Women's Health
Resource on women’s health topics: pregnancy, body image, HIV/AIDS, girls health, heart health, menopause, mental health, quitting smoking, and domestic violence.