Research Guides Home‎ > ‎Chemistry‎ > ‎

Chemistry

Reference Tools

Online Tools for Chemical Information

Find full text popular and scholarly coverage of biology, engineering, physics, chemistry, and the medical sciences.

ProQuest Science Journals via ProQuest Company
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.  

A specialized search engine for science data, definitions, equations, and standards.
 
PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.


Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Includes over 3.3 million articles from 534 scholarly subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Search the entire 32 volumes of Encyclopedia Britannica, the library's comprehensive online general encyclopedia.

Provides access to over 20 general and subject encyclopedias on all topics.

Reference titles in core subjects, including quick reference articles, illustrations, photographs, line diagrams, maps, and tables.  




You may find the library's large collection of print and electronic encyclopedias and reference tools handy when:
  • Brainstorming research topics.
  • Looking for basic definitions, terminology, or statistics.
  • Looking for basic descriptions or discussions of people, places, concepts, events, or historical periods.
  • Looking for pictures, maps, or diagrams.

Help with Research- Videos and Tutorials

Follow these links for brief articles and videos to help with the resources on this page: