Research Guides Home‎ > ‎Biology‎ > ‎

Biology

Websites

From the USDA, the PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references.

A specialized search engine for science data, definitions, equations, and standards.
 
Find the lastest news about scientific research in a variety of disciplines coming out of colleges, universities, and research institutions around the world.

Provides a species checklist and complete taxonomic hierarchy for over 1.4 million species. Compiled from of over one hundred expert taxonomic databases world-wide with and over 3,000 taxonomic specialists.

Created by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, BioSciEdNet is a gateway to online biological educational resources

An online encyclopedia of life sciences being built by reputable sources from around the world. Fun to browse. For specific topics, use the search box.

Another extensive biology directory with links to over 20,000 biology websites.

Free lectures and lessons on major Biology topics (and all academic areas). A nonprofit effort to provide free education to all.


 

Science Daily News- RSS



Help with Research

Follow these links for brief articles and videos to help with the resources on this page:

Evaluating Websites

Google Tools
Overviews of Specific WebsitesRequesting Items via Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Working with Citations (see also the Writing & Citing Guide)