Research Guides Home‎ > ‎Biology‎ > ‎

Biology

Databases

General Databases

9000+ encyclopedia articles and research updates, plus videos, animations, charts, and images, as well as biographies of scientists.

General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.  

Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and  tables representing all major environment topics 

Similar to Academic Search Premier, find full text popular and scholarly coverage of biology, engineering, physics, chemistry, and the medical sciences.

Reference content plus magazines, journals, news sources, experiments, and more.  Covering earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics, science history, and biography.  

Provides digitized full-text articles from 117 scholarly journals and magazines, including numerous titles in biology.

Subject Databases

Provides 80,000 full-text articles from more than 60 scholarly journals covering the life sciences, biomedicine, biotechnology, medicine, and engineering.

ProQuest Biology Journals via ProQuest Company
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety, entomology, and more.  

ProQuest Environmental Science Package via ProQuest Company
Offers deep coverage in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

ProQuest Science Journals via ProQuest Company

Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.  


Medical Research Databases

Pharmaceutical News Index via ProQuest Company
News on medical technology, research and legislative developments 

A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed in-cludes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. 

One of the most comprehensive web resources for quality consumer health in-formation. Developed by the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health, the site contains extensive, high quality information on common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, prescription and non-prescription drugs, medical dictionaries and more. There are also interactive health tutorials and information on clinical trials.
 

Help with Research

Follow these links for brief articles and videos to help with the resources on this page:

Database Overviews and Common Tasks Overviews of Specific Databases Working with Citations (see also the Writing & Citing page)

Ċ
Holgate Instruction,
Aug 22, 2011, 5:26 AM